Skip to content

Invitational returns to Kenn Borek

Dawson Creek Seals play host to four-team swim meet; earn most medals

The Dawson Creek Seals swim club hosted its first real invitational meet since 2019 this past weekend.

The four-team event included the three main disciplines: butterfly, freestyle, and breaststroke from pups right through to adults.

“It's great to have everyone back again,” said club president Trevor O'Dwyer at the end of a very long weekend for both swimmers and volunteers.

“We had upwards of 50 kids who have never competed in a swim meet before, just from Dawson alone.”

With an almost three-year absence, there were not only new faces but more mature ones as well.

“The kids are really doing well. They're progressing in their strokes technically. Some had really good swims, fast swims.”

One swimmer, in particular, Ridley Chisholm had an extremely fast swim, breaking a pool record in Division 7 with a time of 1 minute, 6.86 seconds.

Chisholm had already established new record times before while competing in divisions 5 and 6.

With the weekend now behind the swimmers, the focus will shift to the upcoming regionals in Prince George in two weeks time.

While not everyone will go, most, if not all, of the podium finishers below are expected to compete.

Here are top three “aggregate” finishers in each of the divisions:



Division 1: Hudson Meier (Prince George), Ethan Gold (Dawson Creek), Brantford Bricker (Dawson Creek)

Division 2: Reid Grady (Vanderhoof), Ryan Brock (Dawson Creek), Ben Dufresne (Dawson Creek)

Division 3: Kevin Osuna Rodriguez (Dawson Creek), Madden Green (Dawson Creek), Gage Devauld (Vanderhoof)

Division 4: Jeffrey Giesbrecht (Dawson Creek), Hudson Grady (Vanderhoof), Jeremy Brock (Dawson Creek)

Division 5: Finn Boyle (Prince George), Hunter Patterson (Dawson Creek), Isaiah Panter (Dawson Creek)

Division 6: Zaedmon Dela Cruz (Dawson Creek), Colby Watson (Prince George) Matthew Osuna-Rodriguez (Dawson Creek)

Division 7: Ridley Chisholm (Dawson Creek), Aaron Olsen (Prince George), Shawn Fisher (Quesnel)

Division 8: Mark Sutton (Dawson Creek), Eric Wolf (Dawson Creek), Rory Boyle & Ian Williams (Prince George) – tie



Division 1: Leightyn Green (Dawson Creek), Brielle MacDonald (Dawson Creek), Piper Petersen (Dawson Creek)

Division 2: Margaret Brooke-Cobbaert (Dawson Creek), Avayha Shipton (Dawson Creek), Danae Duff (Dawson Creek)

Division 3: Lyric Kessler (Vanderhoof), Suki Zhang (Dawson Creek), Claire Dufresne (Dawson Creek)

Division 4: Annika Guild (Dawson Creek), Robyn Bennett (Prince George), Olivia Medhurst (Prince George)

Division 5: Mischa Krawczyk (Prince George), Lauren Larsen (Quesnel), Adison Grady (Vanderhoof)

Division 6: Natalia Duff (Dawson Creek), Amelia McDonald (Dawson Creek), Haylee Raby (Vanderhoof)

Division 7: Emma Watson (Prince George), Kailie Kusler (Vanderhoof), Hannah McDonald (Dawson Creek)

Division 8: Brittany Croston (Dawson Creek), June Cheung (Dawson Creek), Baylee McGillvray (Vanderhoof)


Final Team Points Total/Standings:

(1) Dawson Creek Seals:  2,218

(2) Prince George Pisces:  720

(3) Nechako Otters (Vanderhoof):  415

(4) Quesnel Sea Lions:  195